You can start over

What is so glorious about the morning?

I am not a morning person.  I am slow in getting started and in fact, I don’t even feel like Christmas when I first awake.

But I am starting to learn that mornings are amazing for the simple reason that you get a new start in them, every day.  Each morning is a fresh beginning.  No matter what went wrong today, you have a chance to start all over again tomorrow at first light when you open your eyes.

We are given this gift so that we don’t get stuck in the difficulties of life.  So that we don’t get depressed and bogged down.  No matter what went wrong today, there is always a chance to set it right.

Thoughts are different in the morning.  They are almost exact opposites to evening thoughts.  What I set out to do when I first surface from sleep, those thoughts and ideas are capable of so much more than the thoughts during the rest of the day.

In the morning I awake and think:  “I never want to do that again” but in the evening I think:  “Why not, why shouldn’t I?”  By acting on those first thoughts, I push myself further and achieve more.  It is less mundane, less accepting of failure.  It aspires to everything that is good and best for me.

What then is so glorious about the morning?

Everything.  So Carpe Diem!

Leave a Reply

